Sports in Philadelphia 

Philly has been home to many teams and events in professional, semi-professional, amateur, college and high school sports.  They have a long and proud history of professional sports teams (click on "Sports in Philadelphia" for a more detailed article about the history).  Philly is only one of a handful of cities with all four major sports teams playing inside its city limits.


Baseball (MLB):  The Phillies play at Citizens Bank Park.   Founded in 1883, the team is the oldest continuous, one name, one-city franchise in all of professional American sports.  Located on 21 acres in South Philadelphia, on the north side of Pattison Ave. between 11th & Darien, the 43,500 seat Citizens Bank Park is the ultimate baseball and entertainment experience.  Competing in the National League East Division, the Phillies have won two World Series Championships: 1980 & 2008. The Phillies have retired the jerseys:  1 Richie Ashburn, 14 Jim Bunning, 20 Mike Schmidt, 32 Steve Carlton, 36 Robin Roberts, and 42 Jackie Robinson; as well as the jerseys of Grover Cleveland Alexander and Chuck Klein.


Basketball (NBA):  The 76ers play at the Wells Fargo Center located in the Sports Complex just off the Broad Street exit of Route 95.  In 1983, the 76ers won the NBA championship sweeping the Los Angeles Lakers in four games.  The team has retired seven player jerseys:  6 Julius (Dr. J.) Irving, 10 Maurice Cheeks, 13 Wilt Chamberlain, 15 Hal Greer, 24 Bobby Jones, 32 Billy Cunningham, and 34 Charles Barkley.


Football (Arena):  The Philadelphia Soul play at the Wells Fargo Center.  They began playing in 2004 as an expansion team in the Eastern Division of the American Conference, and won the Arena Bowl Championship is 2008. 

Football (NFL):  The Eagles play at Lincoln Financial Field in the Sports Complex just off the Broad Street exit of Route 95.  The 1960 Eagles are the only team to defeat the Vince Lombardi lead Green Bay Packers in a playoff game.  Representing the National Football Conference East Division, they have appeared in the 1980 & 2004 Super Bowls but have yet to win the championship.  There are seven retired player jerseys:  15 Steve Van Buren, 40 Tom Brookshier, 44 Pete Retzlaff, 60 Chuch Bednarik, 70 All Wistert, 92 Reggie White, and 99 Jerome Brown.


Hockey (NHL):  The Flyers play at the Wells Fargo Center.  They were established in 1967 as one of the first NHL expansion teams and play in the Eastern Conference.    They have won the Stanley Cup in 1974 & 1975.  There are five retired player jerseys:  1 Bernie Parent, 2 Mark Howe, 4 Barry Ashbee, 7 Bill Barber, and 16 Bobby Clarke.


Lacrosse (NLL):  The Wings play at the Wells Fargo Center.  The Wings were one of the original four teams in the Eagle Pro Box Lacrosse League that began play in 1987, and the only team to reclaim its identity from the original 1974-1975 National Lacrosse League.  They also retained the first Philadelphia Wings logo.  They are the only franchise to play all 24 seasons in the same city.  They have won 6 titles in their combined league history.


Soccer (MSL):  The Philadelphia Union plays at PPL Park in Chester.  The team was established in 2010 and represent the Eastern Conference.